Skip to content ↓

Our Lady’s Catholic College

Learn, Live, Love, Together...

Governor List and Information

The main aim of the governing body is to maintain and improve its school's standards of education.

Its work is divided into three key areas:

  • setting the school's vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies, and making creative use of resources
  • monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school
  • ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs

At Our Lady's we pride ourselves on the strength, committment and knowledge of our governors, who come together with a wide range of skills to complement our school leadership.

“ Governors have acted as ‘critical friends’ to the school. They have challenged leaders to secure continuous improvements during a period of financial hardship caused by low pupil numbers. The expertise of governors is well matched to their roles on the governing body and they have recently assumed the responsibility for being ‘link governors’ for different subjects."OFSTED

“The governing body make a highly significant contribution to the work and the Catholic dimension of the school. They have worked tirelessly with the Headteacher, Senior Leadership Team and Religious Education staff, including the Chaplaincy Team, to ensure the Catholic mission of the school is central to the development of Our Lady’s Catholic College” Lancaster Diocese Section 48 report

Foundation Governors

Term of Office

Steve Thornton(Chair of Governors)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Wyn Lambert (Chair of ECM Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Alice Robinson

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Philip Jones (Vice Chair of Governors)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Anthony Kilgallon

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Anne Goddard (Chair of A and S Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Paul Bates

01/12/17 - 31/11/2020

Canon John Gibson

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Co-opted Governor


Chris Foster (Chair of Resources Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

LEA Governor


Michelle Wood

11/07/18 - 10/07/2021

Parent Governors


Lucy Ellis

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Laura Gatti

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Staff Governors


Helen Seddon


Alison Bates

01/12/2015 – 30/11/2019


Chair of Governing Body
Nominated Governor for Technology and ICT
Steve Thornton Anthony Kilgallon
Pupil Premium Governor Nominated Governor for Creative Arts
Tony Kilgallon Paul Bates
Nominated Governor for English Nominated Governor for Humanities
Wyn Lambert Michelle Wood
Nominated Governor for Science Nominated Governor for PE
Chris Foster Phil Jones
Nominated Governor for Maths Nominated Governor for Vocational 
Steve Thornton Maria Raistrick
Safeguarding Governor Looked after Children Governor
Frank Rycroft Frank Rycroft
Nominated Governor for MFL  Governor for 6th Form
VACANCY Steven Thornton
SEN Governor  Careers Governor
Anne Goddard Michelle Wood
Nominated Governor for RE  
Canon John Gibson  

                                Chair of Governing Body - Steve Thornton

                                 Vice Chair of Governing Body - Philip Jones

Achievement & Standards Resources Pupil Wellbeing
Anne Goddard (Chair) Chris Foster (Chair) Wyn Lambert (Chair)
Wyn Lambert Philip Jones
Steve Thornton Tony Kilgallon Philip Jones
Alison Bates Steve Thornton
Chris Foster Steve Thornton Fr John Gibson
Paul Bates Alison Bates  
  Anne Goddard Paul Bates
    Michelle Wood


Committee Meeting Attendance (2018/19)

Full Governors Meeting Wednesday 26th September - Present: Frank Rycroft, Helen Seddon, Maria Raistrick,  Phil Jones, Steven Thornton, Wyn Lambert, Alison Bates,  Canon John Gibson


Business Interests:


Interests relating to relationships:

Mr Steven Thornton - Father of a member of teaching staff

Mrs Alison Bates - Spouse of a member of teaching staff

Governor roles in other educational establishments:

Alison Bates - St Patrick's Catholic Primary School Heysham

Anne Goddard - Scotforth St Paul's Primary School, Lancaster