Skip to content ↓

Staff and Governor Information

Governor List and Information

The main aim of the governing body is to maintain and improve its school's standards of education.

Its work is divided into three key areas:

  • setting the school's vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies, and making creative use of resources
  • monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school
  • ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs

At Our Lady's we pride ourselves on the strength, committment and knowledge of our governors, who come together with a wide range of skills to complement our school leadership.

“ Governors have acted as ‘critical friends’ to the school. They have challenged leaders to secure continuous improvements during a period of financial hardship caused by low pupil numbers. The expertise of governors is well matched to their roles on the governing body and they have recently assumed the responsibility for being ‘link governors’ for different subjects."OFSTED

“The governing body make a highly significant contribution to the work and the Catholic dimension of the school. They have worked tirelessly with the Headteacher, Senior Leadership Team and Religious Education staff, including the Chaplaincy Team, to ensure the Catholic mission of the school is central to the development of Our Lady’s Catholic College” Lancaster Diocese Section 48 report

Foundation Governors

Term of Office

Wyn Lambert (Chair of ECM Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Alice Robinson

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Philip Jones (Chair of Governors)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Anthony Kilgallon

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Anne Goddard (Vice Chair of Governors and Chair of A and S Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Paul Bates

23/03/2018 - 22/03/2022

Canon John Gibson

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Co-opted Governor


Chris Foster (Chair of Resources Committee)

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

LEA Governor


Michelle Wood

31/03/18 – 30/03/2022

Parent Governors




Laura Gatti

01/09/2019 - 30/08/2023

Staff Governors


Helen Seddon


Alison Bates

 30/11/2019 - 29/11/2022


Chair of Governing Body
Nominated Governor for Technology and ICT
Phil Jones Anthony Kilgallon
Pupil Premium Governor Nominated Governor for Creative Arts
Tony Kilgallon Paul Bates
Nominated Governor for English Nominated Governor for Humanities
Wyn Lambert Michelle Wood
Nominated Governor for Science Nominated Governor for PE
Chris Foster Phil Jones
Nominated Governor for Maths Nominated Governor for Vocational 
Steve Thornton Vacancy
Safeguarding Governor Looked after Children Governor
Phil Jones Phil Jones
Nominated Governor for MFL  Governor for 6th Form
Laura Gatti Vacancy
SEN Governor  Careers Governor
Anne Goddard Michelle Wood
Nominated Governor for RE Nominated Governor for Health and Safety
Canon John Gibson Chris Foster

                                Chair of Governing Body - Steve Thornton

                                 Vice Chair of Governing Body - Philip Jones

Achievement & Standards Resources Pupil Wellbeing
Anne Goddard (Chair) Chris Foster (Chair) Wyn Lambert (Chair)
Wyn Lambert Philip Jones
Steve Thornton Tony Kilgallon Philip Jones
Chris Foster Laura Gatti  Fr John Gibson
Paul Bates Alison Bates Michelle Wood
Alison Bates Anne Goddard Paul Bates
    Anne Goddard


Committee Meeting Attendance (2021/22)

Full governing body meeting held by video conference on Friday 2 July 2021 at 2:00pm.



Mr S Thornton (Chair)



Dr P Bates



Mr C Foster



Ms L Gatti



Canon J Gibson



Miss A Goddard



Mr P Jones



Mrs W Lambert



Mrs M Wood



Mrs H Seddon (Headteacher)




Also Present:


Mrs M Cullen (Governing Body Adviser/Clerk)



Mr D Coyle (Deputy Headteacher – Observer)



Miss K Walker (School Business Manager – Observer)


Resources Committee Tuesday 9 March 2021 at 5pm.    
Present:   Mr C Foster (Chair)
    Mrs A Bates
    Ms L Gatti
    Mr S Thornton
    Mrs H Seddon (Headteacher)
Also present:   Mrs M Cullen (Governing Body Adviser)
    Miss K Walker (School Business Manager - Observer)


 Achievement & Standards committee meeting Wednesday 3 March 2021 at 5:00pm.    
Present:   Mr S Thornton (Chair)
    Mrs A Bates
    Dr P Bates
    Mr C Foster
    Mrs W Lambert
    Mrs A Robinson
    Mrs M Wood
    Mrs H Seddon (Headteacher)
Also present:   Mrs M Cullen (Clerk to Governors)
    Mrs C Porter (Assistant Headteacher - Observer)
    Mr D Coyle (Deputy Headteacher - Observer)
School Community Committee meeting  Tuesday 23 February 2021 at 5pm    
Present:   Miss L Ellis (Chair)
    Mr P Jones
    Mr S Thornton
    Mrs H Seddon (Headteacher)
Also present:   Mrs M Cullen (Governing Body Adviser)
    Mrs J Loxam (Assistant Headteacher Pastoral/SENDCo – Observer)


Business Interests:


Interests relating to relationships:


Governor roles in other educational establishments:

Alison Bates - St Patrick's Catholic Primary School Heysham

Anne Goddard - Scotforth St Paul's Primary School, Lancaster