Skip to content ↓

Our Lady’s Catholic College

Learn, Live, Love, Together...

Governor List

The main aim of the governing body is to maintain and improve its school's standards of education.

Its work is divided into three key areas:

  • setting the school's vision and strategic aims, agreeing plans and policies, and making creative use of resources
  • monitoring and evaluating performance, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher to support and challenge them in managing the school
  • ensuring that the school is accountable to the children and parents it serves, to its local community, to those who fund and maintain it, as well as to the staff it employs

At Our Lady's we pride ourselves on the strength, committment and knowledge of our governors, who come together with a wide range of skills to complement our school leadership.

“The governance of the school:

  • is proactive and challenges the leadership of the college with rigour

  • takes its monitoring role seriously and spends time in the college finding out how the college works

  • is well-informed by senior leaders of the performance of the college overall and of the contribution of staff to its overall effectiveness

  • undertakes appropriate training to support its role in the strategic development of the college.” OFSTED 2012

“The governing body make a highly significant contribution to the work and the Catholic dimension of the school. They have worked tirelessly with the Headteacher, Senior Leadership Team and Religious Education staff, including the Chaplaincy Team, to ensure the Catholic mission of the school is central to the development of Our Lady’s Catholic College” Lancaster Diocese Section 48 report 2013

Foundation Governors

Term of Office

Steve Thornton(Chair of Governors)

01/09/2015 – 31/08/2019

Wyn Lambert (Chair of ECM Committee)

01/09/2015 – 31/08/2019

Frank Rycroft

01/09/2015 – 31/08/2019

Philip Jones (Vice Chair of Governors)

28/02/2012 – 28/02/2016

Anthony Kilgallon

01/09/2015 – 31/08/2019

Anne Goddard (Chair of A and S Committee)

01/01/2016 – 31/12/2019

Paul Bates

01/12/17 - 31/11/2020

Canon John Gibson

01/12/2015 – 30/11/2019

Co-opted Governor


Chris Foster (Chair of Resources Committee)

01/12/2015 – 30/11/2019

LEA Governor



01/09/2016 - 31/08/19

Parent Governors


Claire Penrice

01/04/2014 – 31/03/2018

Maria Raistrick

01/11/2015 – 31/10/2019

Staff Governors


Helen Seddon


Alison Bates

01/12/2015 – 30/11/2019


                                       Chair of Governing Body - Steve Thornton

                                 Vice Chair of Governing Body - Philip Jones

Achievement & Standards Resources Pupil Wellbeing
Anne Goddard (Chair) Chris Foster (Chair) Wyn Lambert (Chair)
Wyn Lambert Philip Jones Frank Rycroft
Steve Thornton Tony Kilgallon Philip Jones
Claire Penrice Frank Rycroft Steve Thornton
Alison Bates Steve Thornton Fr John Gibson
Chris Foster Alison Bates Maria Raistrick
Paul Bates Anne Goddard Paul Bates


Chair of Governing Body
Nominated Governor for Technology and ICT
Steve Thornton Anthony Kilgallon
Pupil Premium Governor Nominated Governor for Creative Arts
Tony Kilgallon Paul Bates
Nominated Governor for English and RE Nominated Governor for Humanities
Wyn Lambert Anthony Bunting
Nominated Governor for Science Nominated Governor for PE
Chris Foster Phil Jones
Nominated Governor for Maths Nominated Governor for Vocational 
Steve Thornton Maria Raistrick
Safeguarding Governor Looked after Children Governor
Frank Rycroft Frank Rycroft
Nominated Governor for MFL  Governor for 6th Form
Claire Penrice Steven Thornton
SEN Governor Careers Governor
Wyn Lambert Claire Penrice

Committee Meeting Attendance (2017/18)

Full Governors Meeting 19th September 2017 - Phil Jones, Steven Thornton, Wyn Lambert, Alison Bates, Maria Raistrick, Frank Rycroft, Helen Seddon, FR John Gibson

Resources 7th November 2017  - Chris Foster, Frank Rycroft, Tony Kilgallon, Alison Bates, Phil Jones, Anne Goddard, Helen Seddon

Achievement and Standards 14th November 2017  - Steven Thornton, Alison Bates, Chris Foster, Helen Seddon, Anne Goddard

Pupil Wellbeing 21st November 2017 - Wyn Lambert, Frank Rycroft, Helen Seddon, Maria Raistrick, Phil Jones, Steve Thornton, Canon J Gibson

Full Governors Meeting 5th December 2017 - Steven Thornton, Wyn Lambert, Alison Bates, Frank Rycroft, Helen Seddon, FR John Gibson, Paul Bates, Anthony Kilgallon, Anne Goddard, Claire Penrice, Chris Foster

Business Interests:


Interests relating to relationships:

Mr Steven Thornton



Father of a member of teaching staff


Governance roles in other educational institutions:

Mrs Alison Bates



Governor at St Patrick's Catholic Primary School Heysham